Local News

Texas Beauties Receive Star on Hollywood Walk of Fame

By  | 

We hate spam too, we'll never share your email address



Many folks may not understand the process that goes into selecting each nominee for a star. Ana Martinez-Vice President of Media Relations/Producer for the Hollywood Walk of Fame had this to share-“Selena Fans wanted to send in signed petitions to nominate her for a star as she was loved across the globe, but that wasn’t the correct process. There is an application and criteria that must be met. Longevity in the business, philanthropic work are among some of the factors that are considered,” shared Martinez. “In the case of Selena, we needed to be contacted by the family and have consent for her to receive the star. A businessman and friend of the Quintanilla family approached them to ask if he could nominate Selena with their support and the family agreed to have him as their sponsor for her star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.”

The entire list of the class of 2017 Hollywood Walk of Fame nominees are:

In the category of MOTION PICTURES:

Amy Adams, Jason Bateman, Goldie Hawn, Dwayne Johnson, Chris Pratt, Brett Ratner, Ryan Reynolds, George A. Romero, Mark Ruffalo and Rita Wilson

In the category of TELEVISION:

Tyra Banks, Andre Braugher, Ken Corday, Lee Daniels, Hugh Laurie, Eva Longoria, Wolfgang Puck, Keri Russell, Haim Saban, George Segal, Sarah Silverman and Jeffrey Tambor

In the category of RECORDING:

Clarence Avant, Jerry Goldsmith (posthumous), Hall & Oates, Ice Cube, John Legend, *NSYNC, New Edition and Selena Quintanilla (posthumous)

In the category of RADIO:

Elvis Duran


Criss Angel, Jeff Dunham and Gustavo Dudamel

“The Walk of Fame Selection Committee is thrilled to announce our newest honorees to the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The Committee looked carefully at each nominee and we feel that we have selected a great group of talent that will appeal to the tastes of many fans around the world,” stated Television Producer and Walk of Famer Vin Di Bona.