Local News

‘Click It or Ticket’ Campaign Increases Seat Belt Safety Awareness

By  | 

We hate spam too, we'll never share your email address

 

 

According to the Texas Click It or Ticket website, any person over 8 years old riding in a vehicle (or, of course, driving) must wear a seat belt. This includes anyone in the backseat. And those under 8 years old (unless they’re taller than 4 feet 9 inches) must sit in a safety seat. Not following these rules of the road will get any vehicle pulled over, and the adult who’s unbuckled will receive a ticket and pay a fine of up to $200. Children who aren’t secured by a seat belt will result in a fine of up to $250 for the driver.

ABC 13 says that the Texas Department of Transportation will heighten awareness of this campaign starting now through June 4th by increasing enforcement of the seat belt laws. They write, “994 people died last year because they were not wearing seat belts — an increase of nine percent from 2015.”

The campaign falls over Memorial Day weekend, a popular time to travel across the state, and it coincides with Seat Belt Safety Awareness Month (May). Those who roll their eyes at the idea of wearing a safety belt can take a few minutes to review the videos on the TxDOT website of officers detailing why they feel the law is important. Officer McDonald says his wife was once thrown from his car while he was driving. “I issue the ticket because I care, and I don’t want to see any more of those horrible images,” he stated.