Lifestyle

Snapchat Releases Snap Maps Which Gives Away User’s Locations

By  | 

We hate spam too, we'll never share your email address

 

Snapchat recently unveiled a new update. The sort of “commercial” advertising the new feature shows two young women searching for something to do while out on the town. They check a map full of Snapchat stories to determine what’s going on where and figure out their next plan for the night. While the video makes it seem completely harmless and fun, the idealistic world shown in the commercial isn’t our reality, so many users and parents are worried about the safety of the update.

In their new article titled “How to Turn Off Snapchat’s Stalkerish Snap Map Feature,” Wired points out that people already know the app uses their GPS location to give them special stickers pertaining to where they are, but showing exactly where people are posting from on an easily accessible public map is encroaching on strange, new territory.

If showing your location isn’t your style, or if you want to make sure your child isn’t using the feature, know that it only goes into effect once one updates the app. Then, “you get three choices: all your friends, select friends, or only me. Choosing ‘only me’ activates what Snapchat calls Ghost Mode. This makes your avatar disappear from others’ maps; like true poltergeist, you can see others but they can’t see you. Great for lurkers!” Wired explains.

If you want to shut off Snapchat’s ability to see your location all together, go into your “location” phone settings.