Local News

Texas Ban on Texting While Driving Takes Effect September 1, 2017

By  | 

We hate spam too, we'll never share your email address

 

 

Effective September 1, 2017, texting while driving will be against the law in the state of Texas. Governor Greg Abbott made the announcement on Tuesday, June 6, after signing the texting while driving bill. What this means is that no one in the Lone Star State will legally be able to send electronic messages while driving.

bad drivers

Photo: Pexels

Punishable by fine for first-time offenders at a cost of $99 and repeat offenders at $200, the law will only cover texting and excludes other phone uses such as music programs and GPS. The author of the bill, Texas Representative Tom Craddick of the Midland area, has since issued a statement saying, “I am pleased that Governor Abbott signed House Bill 62 and it will become law. By enacting this public safety legislation, the governor is saving lives by deterring this dangerous and deadly behavior. For a long time, Texas has needed this law to prevent the loss of life in unnecessary and preventable crashes and we finally have it. This delivers a strong message to Texas drivers to stop texting, put down their phone, and keep their eyes on the road. Like AT&T says: It can wait.”

Texas Ban on Texting While Driving Takes Effect September 1, 2017
Photo: Wikimedia

Ending a decade-long effort by advocates to reduce this deadly driving distraction on Texas roads, this state will be one of the last in the U.S. to adopt such measures when this law takes effect. Many cities across the Lone Star State already have such a ban in existence, and in a statement further referencing this, Governor Abbott said that when Texas lawmakers meet in special session through July and August, he will ask for them to pass a state law which will roll back local ordinances, in effect, having a state-wide law on the subject. “We don’t need a patchwork of regulations,” Abbott said.

Page 1 of 2:12