Texas Politics 101: Who Represents the Lone Star State?

By  | 

During this election season, we tend to get tangled up in national debates and arguments, but how well do Texans know our state leaders? It’s time for a little Texas politics 101. Know who represents you!

Governor: Greg Abbott (Republican)

abbottPhoto: Flickr/Gage Skidmore

Greg Abbott’s long career as a Texas leader began back in 1993 as a trial judge before winning a seat on the Supreme Court of Texas in 1996. He also served for 12 years as the Texas Attorney General and recently was elected as Texas Governor in 2014 after former governor, Rick Perry, ended his Texas political dominance to run for president of the United States the same year.

Lieutenant Governor: Dan Patrick (Republican)

ltgovPhoto: Flickr/Gage Skidmore

Dan Patrick has been a political figure in Texas since 2006 when he won his first Texas Senate seat. In 2014, Lt. Gov. Patrick won the Republican primary election for lieutenant governor via run-off. Despite the tight primary race, Patrick went on to win the general election with nearly 60% of the vote. Patrick has also built a reputation as an “iron man” of sorts. During his 7 years in the Texas Senate, Patrick only missed one day while voting in all but six of the 13,000 votes.

Comptroller of Public Accounts: Glenn Hegar (Republican)

hegarPhoto: YouTube

Comptroller Hegar began his Texas political career in 2002 when he was elected to the Texas house. He has also served two terms in the Texas senate before being elected as Comptroller in 2014. One of Hegar’s greatest achievements happened during his time as chairman of the Sunset Advisory Commission where his primary role was to limit waste in government spending. During that time he eliminated six Texas state agencies saving an estimated $160 million in taxpayer money.

Attorney General: Ken Paxton (Republican)

Page 1 of 3:123