Things to Do

Texas Traveling Made Easy in 7 Regions of Texas

By  | 

We hate spam too, we'll never share your email address



Easy is not the first word that comes to mind when someone thinks of traveling the state of Texas. Our great state is so large, it might be difficult to figure out where to begin. But using the same train of thought that you use to approach a complicated or overwhelming project, you can break the overall project down into smaller, more manageable segments. Texas can be divided into seven regions, each with its own distinct geographical features and attractions. These regions are: Big Bend Country, Gulf Coast, Hill Country, Panhandle Plains, Piney Woods, Prairies and Lakes, and South Texas Plains. You can choose one to start with, and work your way through each of them as you find time.

1. Big Bend Country Region


Photo:  John Shellington, Facebook/BigBendNPS

The Big Bend region is far west Texas, and it has wide-open spaces with rugged plateaus and desert mountains. The only mountains in Texas are found here. Named after the big bend of the Rio Grand River, there is also a national wildlife refuge and state park with the same name. Big Bend National Park is one of the most well-known national parks in the country. El Paso is the largest city in this region.

There are other, smaller cities and towns in this area, but they are not very close together. Because their locations are so remote, the different towns have each developed their own unique charm, and visitors enjoy exploring places such as Alpine, Del Rio, Presidio, Ft. Stockton, and Marfa. A particularly interesting draw to the town of Marfa is the Marfa Ghost lights, an unusual phenomena where unexplained orbs of light glow in the sky often, and have since the late 1800s. Some of the most popular activities in the Big Bend Region are mountain climbing, hiking, and river rides on the Rio Grande River.

2. Gulf Coast Region

Photo:  Judy Peacock

Page 1 of 4:1234